Reading time: 3 minutes

Minimalist Desk

Minimalist Desk

Productivity must be in tune with the environment and the work tools. In the knowledge era, the desktop plays a determinant role in the worker productivity.

In this article I will describe how is my own desktop, both the physical and the virtual one. I think the desktop is very important at the time to be productive, because it is the place on which we work and interact most of the day.

The physical desktop

At the beginning of this article you can see a picture of my physical desktop. As you can see, it is extremely minimalist. There is nothing to distract me. I have only what I need: my computer, my agenda and my notepad.

For many years I used to not use physical paper. I save all documents on my computer or in the cloud. In addition to not occupy a space that can reach hovering, you can find quickly the electronic documents, and you can even find something inside quickly without having to read the index or the document.

The virtual desktop

My virtual desktop is also minimalist: it does not have any icon (except the trash icon), and all elements are hidden.

How do I access to applications and documents? Well, I have several tools installed that greatly facilitate the work.

The first tool is called Launchy, which is an applications launcher. When you press the Alt + Space keys (it can be set), a text box appears in the center of the screen. When you type, a list of applications appears, whose names match the characters typed. For example, if I type “ex”, Excel appears. Now, I press Enter and Excel is launched. This is very useful, fast and effective.

Productive Desktop 2

Productive Desktop 2

The next tool is a “dock”, which remains hidden until I move the mouse cursor to the bottom of the screen. In my case, I use Nexus, but there are a lot of alternatives for any operating system.

Productive Desktop 1

Productive Desktop 1

A dock is a floating toolbar with many features, but the most important one is to place shortcuts to applications. Making a judicious use of this tool, you must create shortcuts only for the applications that you use daily.

Finally, I have the start bar placed in the top so it does not interfere with the dock. This bar is configured to appear only when I move the mouse cursor to the top of the screen.

Productive Desktop 3

Productive Desktop 3

Other productive tips

Productivity is not only present in what you see. What you don’t see is also essential, and the health of your computer is vital. Every extra second it takes to boot the operating system or to load an application is detrimental to our productivity. The computer should use what we need when we need it. Neither more nor less.

How many tools do you have installed and you barely use? How many services are running when the computer starts and you do not need? How many services can be disabled and use them only when you think are needed?

Here are my tips

1) Leave installed only those applications you really need.

2) Review the services launched at startup. Except the core operating system services and the antivirus, no other service must run.

3) Uninstall all plug-ins, add-ons and toolbars that you do not need in your browsers.

4) Replace, if possible, any desktop application using alternative applications on the Web or in the cloud. Thanks to these applications you will have your work available anywhere and on any device.

5) Perform periodic cleaning of the Windows registry, temporary files, etc. I recommend you the following applications: JetClean and CCleaner

6) Defrag your hard disk once a year. I recommend you Smart Defrag.

With all these tips, your computer will be much faster and more efficient, and therefore, your productivity will increase considerably.

How is your productive desktop? What productivity tools do you use? What advice can you give us?

 

You might also like:

Easy and efficient management of tasks list (I) Managing the task list: the priority The context of the tasks
Easy and efficient management of tasks list (I) Managing the task list: the priority The context of the tasks

 

Leer este post en EspañolLeer este post en Español

